Dynamische Navigation einblenden
Dynamische Navigation ausblenden
Suche einblenden

European Historic Thermal Towns Association (EHTTA)

Wiesbaden has been a member of the growing network of European historic thermal towns since 2011, which is now part of the cultural routes of Europe.

International network of thermal towns

EHTTA is a non-profit association based on the need to encourage, protect and enhance the thermal, artistic and cultural heritage throughout Europe. The main objectives of the association are to

  • Highlight the distinctive traits of the spa towns and evidence what they have in common: spa culture, variety and diversity of local traditions
  • Encourage the integrated development of spa towns and preserve their cultural and architectural heritage
  • Promote a network of close cooperation between European institutions and European support programmes

At the same time the focus is to develop marketing activities to promote the network and the potential for tourism projects.

The EHTTA has 26 members from eleven European countries, among them are Vichy (France), Bath (UK), Montecatini Terme (Italy), Evian (France), Bursa (Turkey) and Baden-Baden (Germany).

Wiesbaden is part of a European Cultural Route

The European Route of Historical Thermal Towns is a trail that retraces the places where life has taken and developed the spa culture in Europe. The route ideally links the cultural and historic heritage of the spa towns and promotes the quality of their spa waters. In spring 2013 the EHTTA was awarded European Cultural Route by the European Commission.