Eberbach Abbey is located in a Rheingau side valley.
Eberbach Abbey is located in a picturesque Rheingau side valley, far away from any conglomerations with traffic noise and their hustle 'n' bustle – framed by wood land and vineyards. Since Saint Bernard of Clairvaux founded the abbey in 1136, the Cistercian monks' presence had a lasting effect on the prevailing spirit and the buildings erected here.
Today, the Stiftung Kloster Eberbach foundation preserves the cultural tradition and historical heritage going back to these times, bringing it to life thanks to a broad range of cultural events to suit everyone's taste.
The abbey precinct provides pleasures for all the senses. Visitors are invited to take in the simple beauty of the impressive Romanesque abbey church.
Apart from the wonderful concerts, such as those offered during the Rheingau Music Festival, sightseers can enjoy the historical Cabinet cellar and go on the trail of the "The Name of the Rose" film, which was shot in the monks' dormitory. A visit to the Hessische Staatsweingüter vinotheque with its top-quality wines from the Rheingau region rounds off the experience.
Since 2017, the monastery has been open to visitors for up to two hours longer every day. By extending the opening times, the Stiftung Kloster Eberbach foundation has accommodated the abbey's increased popularity. Whether at the weekend or after work: single visitors as well as groups and business guests benefit from the new opening hours. Until the end of March, the unique appeal of the abbey can be discovered daily between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m.; during peak season between 10 a.m. and 7 p.m.; on weekends, holidays and bridge days, the abbey opens at 9 a.m.
- Peak season from April to October: daily from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. – Sat, Sun as well as holidays and bridge days, from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
- Off season from November to March: daily from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.