## Berlin-Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg





## Monika Herrmann District Mayor

Wiesbaden is in addition to Ingelheim am Rhein, Porta Westfalica and the two counties of Limburg-Weilburg and Bergstrasse one of the ten twinned towns of the Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg district, which cooperates with four twinning associations. Besides this, the district and twinning associations maintain ties to the Israeli town of Kiryat Yam / Haifa, San Rafael del Sur, Szczecin (Stettin), Oborishte and the district of Kadiköy in Istanbul.

Town twinning with Wiesbaden has grown over a long period of time. As early as 1964 what was then the district of Kreuzberg – today Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – was twinned with the capital of the federal state of Hesse. It is clear how fresh this love still is despite all the years that have gone by due to the varied and very lively projects held to celebrate the 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary of its twinning in 2014: they all demonstrate its close twinning ties.

Twinning towns and municipalities within Germany such as between Kreuzberg-Friedrichshain and the state capital of Hesse made major contributions to growing together before and after reunification and still support the cultural and economic interaction between twinned towns.

Berlin-Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Monika Herrmann – Statement Year of Twinning on the occasion of the Festive Weekend 22 – 24 April 2016 Ed.: Landeshauptstadt Wiesbaden – Protocol | Schlossplatz 6 | D-65183 Wiesbaden Phone: +49 611 – 31 3331; Email: protokoll@wiesbaden.de

