Where am I?
  1. Homepage
  2. Living in Wiesbaden
  3. Twin towns
  4. 2016 – Year of twinning

2016 – Year of twinning

Lord Mayor Sven Gerich has declared 2016 the "Year of twinning", honouring the outstanding contributions of volunteers.

Lord Mayor Sven Gerich has declared 2016 the "Year of Twinning".

He is honouring the outstanding volunteer contributions made by twinning associations, schools and institutions, by sports, cultural, and other associations, and by the residents of Wiesbaden. The multifaceted programme with cultural, sporting, culinary, and many other types of events is intended to emphasise the diversity, attractiveness, and uniqueness of Wiesbaden's twin towns.

Wiesbaden has twinnings with 18 cities and communities. Two of our twin towns – Breslau and San Sebastian – have even been designated "European Capital of Culture" for 2016.